More news, more chickpeas

December 9, 2008 at 12:59 pm Leave a comment

Ok, guys, here I am again. I am not posting the GH values today because I don’t have them with me, but I can tell you: everything is all right. I did such a good performance in the OGTT test, that one could have thought I’ve never had acromegaly!!  Oh, besides, the running didn’t affect my last results but I’ve learned one should never trust isolated GH values.

BUT

There are a couple of things may be associated with acromegaly and may be not that are keeping me busy this week. Besides the wonderful news about GH, I got more news on monday.

One involves another hormone: cortisol. Apparently, before surgery I was slightly insuline-resistant (I didn’t know that), which could have been caused by acromegaly and the excess of GH. Now that I am healed, everything should have returned to normal, but cortisol (another hormone produced in the pituitary gland) is way too high (for the first time in my life). This could also be related to the on-the-same-day diagnosed polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), so it has to be tested. On friday.

The second piece of news involvers another gland: thyroid.  Apparently I have nodules (which is ok, my mother has also) that are growing too fast (which is not ok). Hormones produced in the thyroid gland are ok, but the fast growing could be very bad news or just acromegaly leftovers… Let’s see. That’s gonna be tested as well this week.

So, actually, I went to the endo to see what happened to my first cyst, then adenoma, a.k.a. chickpea, and if it’s gone forever and I found out that my ovaries are full of chickpeas (cysts) and so is my thyroid…

Sigh.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

“Bad news?” or “Does running affect GH?” Plots, plots, plenty of plots

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Any questions?


